Working from home

Popular opinion 6 months ago in the office seems to be working from home is impossible. Too many distractions and too little work is getting done. Fast forward today, everyone is working from home. Previous jobs that were deemed impossible to do at home has become the norm. COVID-19 has changed the work culture forever. 

I’ve been extremely lucky to be in a line of work that can be done remotely. Remote work is not easy. Here’s what works for me.

Dedicated work space

Having a dedicated workspace is important. When there was no dedicated workspace it’s hard for me to get into that “work mode”. Sure you can take couple of calls and get some work done. It’s hard if I have to do it for a prolonged period of time.

Quiet room

Being in a quite room helps. If I’m in the living room sometimes it’s hard to concentrate. You can get random stuff done but If I have to read, understand and then put that to work, quiet rooms work best. I’ve been lucky to have a quiet dedicated room that I can use as a workspace.

The right temperature

When the temperature is going over the room it’s hard for me to get stuff done. If it’s too hot or too cold it’s detrimental to the work environment and ultimately myself; who’s doing the work. Taking control of the temperature is extremely important. When summer heat is at full swing, as it’s now, fans and ACs are required. 

Change lighting conditions

Working from home means you can create your own working hours. At least it’s been that way for me. I tend to choose work hours depending on how occupied I am with other things. With a setting like that it’s important to take control of lighing. Sometimes, a dull light will make my sleepy. Increasing more light, switching to light mode on apps can change that. 

Oh and coffee!

Moving around

Working in a quite room in isolation can get dull at times. Moving around is important. I don’t have the luxury of a well lit hallway with a view of snowy mountains and thick greenery. Next best alternative for me at the moment is 7 minute workout (google/youtube that) and a pair of dumbbells.

Quick energy bursts

The dumbbells help me with quick energy boosts. It’s not like you’re in a gym trying out a 1 – 2 hour workout. 1 – 2 minute of iron lifting can give me an extra boost. Snap me out of the after lunch sleepyness.

Following are my ongoing challenges that still needs more work.

Drinking more water

When I was working in the office I somehow drank more water. Maybe I need to use one of those life gamifying apps to remind every hour that I need to drink some water.

Continuous video calls

Video calls are a blessing and a curse. Blessing in a way because you almost fell as if you’re in this team together. A curse because it is god damn tiring when there are a continuous stream of it.
Reminds me to level up on my video setup.
Lastly don’t work too hard. I’ve become more appreciative of above quote by Jet Li. If you can’t see the picture it says, “You’re killing yourself for a job that will replace you within a week if you dropped dead. Take care of yourself”.
Take care of yourself.

Leave a comment